Skip to product information
1 of 4

David Heyes

Simón García: AC-133 for double bass quartet

Simón García: AC-133 for double bass quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

AC-133 is a fun and vibrant quartet, abounding with rhythmic energy and spirit. Aimed at the good intermediate bass quartet, this is both audience and player-friendly, ideal for any concert or occasion.

AC-133 is the name of the road that leads to the little fisherman's town of Mugardos, where I was born. The piece aims to transmit happiness when returning to your hometown after a long time and to visit your family and friends for a few days during the Christmas holidays. AC-133 is the last stretch of a long journey when you can smell the sea and have a great feeling of arriving home. [Simón García]

AC-133 was premiered by The Bass Gang in October 2009 at the Suntory Hall in Japan. It is probably my first bass quartet "hit" and is nowadays played in many countries."

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A Coruña.

Simón García has composed more than sixty works for double bass, ranging from one to twelve players, alongside transcriptions of these pieces for various chamber ensembles. His music has been performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Denmark, Spain, Japan, Italy, Austria, Germany, Canada, USA, and UK by The Bass Gang, Bass Instinct, and Il Quint-etto amongst others.

View full details