Skip to product information
1 of 6

David Heyes

Judith Bailey: 5 Miniatures for double bass & piano

Judith Bailey: 5 Miniatures for double bass & piano

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Compositions

Composed for the BIBF's One Minute Wonders project in 2006, these five short, colorful, and inventive pieces are aimed at the intermediate bassist and have lively and inventive accompaniments.

Each has its own character and message to convey, contrasting moods and styles in a tonal and very accessible style. Effective music for any concert or audience, they can be performed singly or as a suite, with challenges which are accessible and approachable.

Judith Bailey is a prolific composer and has written a number of works for double bass including a one-movement Concerto for double bass, using the two bar theme of Haydn's lost concerto as its inspiration.

About the Composer

Judith Bailey was born in Cornwall and studied at the Royal Academy of Music in London, specialising in clarinet, piano, conducting and composition. Since 1971 she has worked freelance, conducting Petersfield Orchestra and Southampton Concert Orchestra for around thirty years, and producing a substantial amount of music which is widely performed and published.

In 2001 she returned to live and work in her native Cornwall where she is conductor of Penzance Orchestra Society and Cornwall Chamber Orchestra, and in the same year was awarded the honour of an ARAM from the Royal Academy.

In 2005 she was made a Bard of the Cornish Gorseth for services to music in Cornwall.

View full details