Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

Simón García: Der Fremde (The Stranger) for double bass sextet

Simón García: Der Fremde (The Stranger) for double bass sextet

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Der Fremde (The Stranger) was composed for 'Bass Instinct' and exists in double bass sextet or quartet versions.

The music is lively and jazzy with a strong rhythm section (basses 5 & 6) under-pinning the whole and with possibilities to improvise. Basses 1-4 have the sonorities of a saxophone choir, working in rhythmic unison and creating great lyrical and syncopated melodic interest.

Der Fremde has an immediate impact and is both player and audience friendly and is typical of the exciting and engaging music by this talented young Spanish composer-bassist.

Its UK premiere was at Bass-Fest 2013 on 4 August 2013 at the Silk Mill (Frome, Somerset) by Dan Styffe, David Heyes, Eloise Riddell, Josie Jobbins, Simón García, and Ben Groenevelt.

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A Coruña.

His music has been performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Denmark, Spain, Japan, Italy, Austria, Germany, Canada, USA, and UK by The Bass Gang, Bass Instinct, and Il Quint-etto amongst others, and some of his music was used as teaching material in the 2011 ISB Year of Collaborative Music.

Simón García’s music is lively, jazzy, and rhythmic with great forward momentum and drive. Accessible for players and audiences alike, he writes colourful music of distinction and energy, employing the entire range of the double bass.

View full details