Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

Simón García: The Stranger (Die Fremde) for double bass quartet

Simón García: The Stranger (Die Fremde) for double bass quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

The Stranger is a jazz-infused work, aimed at the enthusiastic intermediate double bass quartet, which has instant player and audience appeal.

Der Fremde (The Stranger) was composed for 'Bass Instinct' and exists in versions for double bass quartet or double bass sextet. The music is lively and jazzy with a strong rhythm section (bass 4) underpinning the whole and with possibilities for basses 3 and 4 to improvise. The other basses give the impression of a saxophone choir, working in rhythmic unison and creating great lyrical and syncopated melodic interest.

The UK premiere of the sextet version was at Bass-Fest 2013 on 4 August 2013 at the Silk Mill (Frome, Somerset) by Dan Styffe, David Heyes, Eloise Riddell, Josie Jobbins, Simon Garcia and Ben Groenevelt.

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A Coruña.

His music has been performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Denmark, Spain, Japan, Italy, Austria, Germany, Canada, USA, and UK by The Bass Gang, Bass Instinct, and Il Quint-etto amongst others, and some of his music was used as teaching material in the 2011 ISB Year of Collaborative Music.

Simón García’s music is lively, jazzy, and rhythmic with great forward momentum and drive. Accessible for players and audiences alike, he writes colourful music of distinction and energy, employing the entire range of the double bass.

View full details