Stephen Street

Cesar Franck: Sonata pour Piano et Violin (Urtext Edition)

Cesar Franck: Sonata pour Piano et Violin (Urtext Edition)

Regular price $20.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.00 USD
Sale Sold out

The Sonata in A major for Violin and Piano by César Franck is one of his best-known compositions and is considered one of the finest sonatas for violin and piano ever written. This piece is hailed as one of the greatest examples of the cyclic composition style with themes reappearing throughout the piece.

The Violin Sonata in A was written in 1886, when César Franck was 63, as a wedding present for the 28-year-old violinist Eugène Ysaÿe. Twenty-eight years earlier, in 1858, Franck had promised a violin sonata for Cosima von Bülow. This never appeared; it has been speculated that whatever work Franck had done on that piece was put aside, and eventually ended up in the sonata he wrote for Ysaÿe in 1886.

This edition has been made directly from the original manuscript, comparing and contrasting the first published edition and Cesar Franck's autograph score. The score today is held in the Morgan library New York however with the manuscripts owner stipulating very limited access. The piano part is a direct copy of this score and is completely authentic to it. The bass edition has been made by Stephen Street and all the markings in the score have been used in performances in London UK. The stimulus for the bass edition was brought about due to the fact that any other editions no longer printed or easily available.

Stephen has also orchestrated the piano part to be performed with string ensemble and soloist, but it is yet to be premiered.

Please note, the video of Xavier Foley is a performance of the Stuart Sankey edition, not the Urtext.

View full details