Skip to product information
1 of 5

David Heyes

František Gregora: Scherzo in B flat major & Polka for double bass & piano (ed. by Gajdoš)

František Gregora: Scherzo in B flat major & Polka for double bass & piano (ed. by Gajdoš)

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Polka was composed in 1849 and is stylish and elegant, primarily using the middle register of the double bass. The Trio (Poco meno mosso) is charming and engaging, influenced by the polkas and stylish dance music of Johann Strauss I and Joseph Lanner in nearby Vienna. It offers musical and technical challenges to the progressing bassist with a lively and supportive accompaniment which adds drama, color, and momentum.

This edition includes piano accompaniments for orchestral tuning only.

About the Composer

Czech bassist-composer František Gregora (1819-1887) was Bottesini's almost exact contemporary, albeit two years older and, although he was a respected soloist and composer his music has, on the whole, been largely forgotten.

Born in Netolice, Bohemia on 9 January 1819, he showed early musical talent playing organ, piano, violin, flute and clarinet before transferring to the double bass. In 1844 he entered the Vienna Conservatoire where he studied double bass with Antonín Sláma and composition with Gottfried Preyer.

After graduation, Gregora returned to Bohemia and settled in Pisek where he lived until his death on 27 January 1887. He became an important local musical figure as organist, choir-master and music teacher, and was soon nicknamed 'the travelling bass virtuoso', having given many recitals in the local area.

František Gregora was a fairly prolific composer and his output includes sacred and secular choral music, chamber and orchestral works alongside a wealth of solo music for double bass.

View full details