Skip to product information
1 of 4

David Heyes

G.P. Telemann: Suite 'Gulliver's Travels' for 2 double basses (arranged by David Heyes)

G.P. Telemann: Suite 'Gulliver's Travels' for 2 double basses (arranged by David Heyes)

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Jonathan Swift published his 'Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, in Four Parts' in 1726, popularly known as 'Gulliver's Travels', and two years later Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) composed his colorful suite for 2 violins. 

It was published in Die getreue Musik-Meister (The Steadfast Music Teacher) in monthly installments, one movement at a time to maintain the interest and magazine revenue and it quickly became an instant hit and one of the most inventive violin duos of the Baroque age. Its five short movements are descriptive and ingenious with challenges for both performers and scope to demonstrate far more than simply technique alone.

This new edition for 2 double basses was made by David Heyes in 2014 and its new key, alongside a few judicious edits, creates an exciting and charming work of great color and inventiveness which offers much to players and audiences alike.

About the Edition

1. Intrada - the opening movement is grand and stately, portraying the excitement and agitation as Gulliver begins his wonderful journey.

2. Lilliputian Chaconne - this sprightly chaconne, usually a slow dance, is written for the people of Lilliput and is written in 3/32 to describe the tiny people as they dance.

3. Brobdingnagian Gigue - a dance for the giants and written in long notes to describe the clumsy steps as they try to dance this fast gigue, but here not so fast! Originally in 24/1 (24 semibreves [whole notes] per bar), this new edition is written in 6/1 to make it slightly easier to read, rehearse and perform.

4. Reverie of the Laputans and their attendant flappers - a relaxed and soporific opening figure is interrupted many times by rhythmic interjections to wake the Lauputans out of their reverie.

5. Loure & Wild Dance - the last movement is a wonderful contrast of the elegant and stately Loure (Houyhnhnms) against the fiery and dramatic Wild Dance (Yahoos) bringing the suite to a successful and lively conclusion.

View full details