Skip to product information
1 of 5

Brock Drevlow

Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 5 for double bass and piano (ed. Brock Drevlow)

Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 5 for double bass and piano (ed. Brock Drevlow)

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Choose Your Version

About the Edition

Brock Drevlow expertly arranges Brahm's Hungarian Dance No. 5 for double bass and piano. One of Brahms' most popular works is now available for the advanced double bassist.

About the Composition

The Hungarian Dances (German: Ungarische Tänze) by Johannes Brahms (WoO 1) is a set of 21 lively dance tunes based mostly on Hungarian themes, completed in 1879. They vary from about a minute to five minutes in length. They are among Brahms's most popular works and were the most profitable for him. Each dance has been arranged for a wide variety of instruments and ensembles. Brahms originally wrote the version for piano four hands and later arranged the first ten dances for solo piano.

Watch Brock perform his edition here.

Each Purchase Includes

1 Annotated double bass part
1 Clean double bass part
1 Piano accompaniment score
Your choice of tuning version: Choose between orchestral, solo, and High C tunings.


Brahms' Hungarian Dances should be placed in the context of interest in folk music. Both Haydn and Boccherini refer frequently to gypsy music, but in Brahms' day it was Franz Liszt with his Hungarian rhapsodies who was an inspiration to Brahms, both artistically and financially. In 1850 Brahms met the Hungarian violinist Ede Reményi and accompanied him in a number of recitals over the next few years. This was his introduction to "gypsy-style" music such as the csárdás, which was later to prove the foundation of his most lucrative and popular compositions, the two sets of Hungarian Dances (published 1869 and 1880).

Only numbers 11, 14, and 16 are entirely original compositions. The better-known Hungarian Dances include Nos. 1 and 5, the latter of which was based on the csárdás "Bártfai emlék" (Memories of Bártfa) by Hungarian composer Béla Kéler, which Brahms mistakenly thought was a traditional folksong. Source: Wiki

About Brock Drevlow

Brock Drevlow, double bass soloist, is an active performer and educator based in New York City. Praised by Classical Minnesota Public Radio, Drevlow’s playing has been described as “jaw-dropping . . . and sensational.”

Drevlow has toured the United States extensively as one-half of the piano and bass duo L’Ambizioso. Their playing has headlined over 150 concerts, including a requested performance by the President of the United States.

Widely known across social media as @solobassist, Drevlow has amassed over five million views on his double bass videos. Drevlow studied Double Bass Performance at the Peabody Conservatory of Music at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD, and earned a Bachelor of Music (BM) degree in Performance from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. His primary instructors included Ira Gold, Chris Brown, Dave Williamson, Paul Johnson, Dr. Gregory Hamilton, and Jeffrey Weisner. Drevlow performs on an American double bass made by Chris Threlkeld-Wiegand (#55) ca. 2023.

Find out more about Brock on his website.


View full details