Skip to product information
1 of 5

David Heyes

Simón García: Lucca, Terra di Felicitá for double bass octet

Simón García: Lucca, Terra di Felicitá for double bass octet

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

"Lucca, Terra di Felicitá was commissioned by BASS 2018 in Lucca, Italy. It is for amplified double bass octet and is a fun and fresh Funk work where I use many effects including pizzicato, harmonic glissandos, drums effects on the bass and also electronics sounds. I tried to transmit the happiness and good vibes I felt when I saw many great friends sharing music, dinners, and much more in the wonderful and historical city as Lucca, where each building and each corner is Art.

It was premiered in Lucca on Saturday, 4th August 2018, by Alberto Bocini, Dritan Gani, Diego Zecharies, Andrés Martín, Volkan Orhon, Adam Booker, David Desimpelaere, Toni G. Araque, and myself in an outside concert called "Lights & Sounds" dedicated to my music and in collaboration with Bass 2018 Lucca Festival, REMIC Microphones and Martinelli Luce."

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A Coruña.

His music has been performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Denmark, Spain, Japan, Italy, Austria, Germany, Canada, USA, and UK by The Bass Gang, Bass Instinct, and Il Quint-etto amongst others, and some of his music was used as teaching material in the 2011 ISB Year of Collaborative Music.

Simón García’s music is lively, jazzy, and rhythmic with great forward momentum and drive. Accessible for players and audiences alike, he writes colourful music of distinction and energy, employing the entire range of the double bass.

Photo: Sarah Poole

View full details