Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

Teppo Hauta-aho: Mini-Bass Quartet No.1 for the beginner double bass quartet

Teppo Hauta-aho: Mini-Bass Quartet No.1 for the beginner double bass quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Mini-Bass Quartet No.1 was composed in the 1980s, when the introduction of smaller-sized double basses required a new solo and ensemble repertoire which was aimed specifically at younger bassists. Teppo Hauta-aho rose to the challenge and composed three quartets for mini basses, progressing in difficulty from the first to the third.

Mini-Bass Quartet No.1 uses first and second position only, employing simple rhythms and dynamics, but also introducing young bassists to different playing techniques at an early stage of their studies.

Arco, pizzicato, Bartók pizz., glissando, percussion, and col legno are inventively used to create color, interest, and challenges within the early stages of chamber music. The piece can be played by quartet or massed basses, by young bassists of all ages, and is a colorful and atmospheric introduction to quartet playing.

Mini-Bass Quartet Bundle

Select the 'Mini-Bass Quartet Bundle' option and you will receive Mini-Bass Quartet #1 and #2 for 25% off.

About the Composer

Teppo Hauta-aho (1941-2021) was the most prolific composer in the history of the double bass and has composed for every ability level, from the beginner to the virtuoso. His music is evocative and atmospheric, shaped by jazz and contemporary styles, and the influence of the dramatic and bleak landscapes and vistas of his native Finland are captured throughout his music. 

View full details