Skip to product information
1 of 5

David Heyes

Carl Nielsen: Fantasy Pieces Op. 2 for double bass & piano (arr. David Heyes)

Carl Nielsen: Fantasy Pieces Op. 2 for double bass & piano (arr. David Heyes)

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Table of Contents

1. Romance

2. Humoresque

About the Composition

Originally for oboe, these two early pieces by Carl Nielsen transcribe well for the double bass and are enjoyable and accessible, making a useful addition to the popular transcription repertoire They would be ideal for the intermediate bassist offering effective musical and technical challenges in the orchestral register of the instrument, but also venturing into thumb position.

Romance is lyrical and evocative, contrasting a livelier and playful Humoresque. The piano accompaniments are supportive and independent, full of late-romantic bravura and rhythmic invention, and the pieces can be successfully performed singly or together as a suite.

Fantasy Pieces Op.2 were composed in 1889 and the composer wrote: "The two oboe pieces are a very early opus. The first – slow – piece gives the oboe the opportunity to sing out its notes quite as beautifully as this instrument can. The second is more humorous, roguish, with an undertone of Nordic nature and forest rustlings in the moonlight."

This edition is for orchestral tuning.

About the Composer

Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) was leading Danish composer of his day and was a violinist in the Danish Court Orchestra from 1889 to 1905, a post he held alongside a growing reputation as a composer.

Gradually he developed his own tonal style and individual musical language, culminating in six magnificent symphonies which are still part of the symphonic repertoire into the 21st-century.

Nielsen was a prolific composer, writing in many genres, and his music is known for a vigorous rhythmic drive and progressive tonality and harmonic independence.

View full details