Skip to product information
1 of 5

David Heyes

Tony Osborne: Two Jazz Suites for double bass & piano

Tony Osborne: Two Jazz Suites for double bass & piano

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Suites

Two Jazz Suites brings together two fun and accessible suites for the progressing young bassist. Written in a popular and jazzy style, each offers musical and technical challenges during the early years of study, with upbeat and rhythmic accompaniments creating ideal study and recital repertoire.

Tony Osborne was a past master at writing engaging and jazzy pieces for young bassists, and these suites are typical of his jazz-infused compositions.

Jurassic Jazz

1. Brontosaurus Bop

2. The Dozy Diplodocus

3. The T-Rex Rock

Jurassic Jazz comprises three short pieces for the good beginner bassist. Written in a jazzy and accessible style, there are simple rhythmic, musical and technical challenges for the adventurous player, set against a lively and supportive accompaniment. These are full of fun and energy, and would be ideal early concert repertoire.

Suite for Eloise

1. Work to Do!

2. Sweet Dreams

3. A Fun Day!

Suite for Eloise is a lively and colourful three-movement suite, aimed at the young bassist, and composed in 2003 for Eloise Riddell.

Work to Do! has a strong rhythmic drive contrasting a lyrical and rhapsodic Sweet Dreams, ending with A Fun Day! which is brimming with energy and great character.

Typical of Tony Osborne's music, these pieces are approachable, accessible and very playable - full of jazzy, rhythmic energy and style. Ideal for any school concert or performance with musical and technical challenges for the younger bassist.


"...The suite is fairly straightforward with strong rhythmic character suitable for a good Grade 5 player. The first movement 'Work to do' sets a strong and determined mood. 'Sweet Dreams' follows and is a kind of blues lullaby, while 'A Fun Day' brings the suite to a resounding close. The piano part has an integral role, providing harmonic underpinning and acting as a springboard from some of the rhythmic interplay. Good concert material." [Music Teacher]

About the Composer

Born in 1947 into a musical family, Tony Osborne studied at the Royal Academy of Music (London) with John Walton (double bass) and Richard Stoker (composition), and divided a busy career between composing, teaching, and performing. A prolific composer and arranger, Tony's original compositions include works in almost every genre, notably Chaconne Syncopations and Wainwright's Ways for brass

quintet, Celebration Fanfare for brass ensemble, the musical A Fine Time for Wine, a beautiful and dramatic Requiem, and many works for string orchestra. Tony’s music for young bassists is very much at the heart of the teaching repertoire, particularly his jazzy and enjoyable bass trios and quartets, and he had the rare ability to create wonderful music which is always player and audience-friendly.

In 2001 Tony Osborne was elected an ARAM (Associate of the Royal Academy of Music) for his pioneering and important work for double bass and was a featured com- poser at Bass-Fest for over ten years. He was a very successful BIBF Composer-in-residence in 2002-3, was a judge for the British Composer Awards and a judge for the BIBF Composition Competition from 1999 until 2015.

Tony Osborne died on 30 March 2019 at the age of 71.

View full details