Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

Simón García: Sounds of Spain 2 for unaccompanied double bass

Simón García: Sounds of Spain 2 for unaccompanied double bass

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Compositions

Sounds of Spain 2 is an exciting series of evocative and vibrant works for unaccompanied double bass. Jazzy and rhythmic styles and idioms explore a wealth of Mediterranean colors and textures in luminous music which is always engaging and invigorating. Ideal for the intermediate-advanced bassist. 

1. Syrinx "The Syrinx Project is a wonderful idea by David Heyes to commemorate the centenary of the death of Claude Debussy. With Syrinx I wanted to tell about the original story of Syrinx and Pan. I tried to create a mystical atmosphere throughout inspired me by the sonority of Debussy's piece." [Simón García] 

2. Arenas Movedizas (Quicksand) is dedicated to Damian Arenas and exists in versions for the jazz or classical bassist. In one movement and brimming with rhythmic energy and momentum, the music drives forward, throughout the orchestral and solo register of the instrument, offering musical and technical challenges in tandem. Ideal for any audience or occasion. 

3. Three for Teppo is a suite of three short pieces and was composed for Teppo-Fest 2016, to celebrate the 75th birthday of the iconic Finnish bassist-composer Teppo Hauta-aho. 1.

4. La Gioconda (Da Vinci 500) "La Gioconda [Mona Lisa] is one of the most famous paintings in the world and contains many mysteries. My piece is played only with harmonics because I wanted to describe the feelings of an old Leonardo remembering this woman in his portrait every day. Using the mixture of major and minor keys I tried to describe the cheerfulness of this mysterious woman and the nostalgia that her memories brought to Leonardo.

Simón García Bundle

Select the 'Simón García Bundle' option and you will receive Bass Monsters, Sounds of Spain 1 and 2, all for 25% off.

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A. Coruna. He has collaborated with many musicians and ensembles, particularly in the field of contemporary music, and has recorded and performed on many commercial recordings and for television and radio broadcasts. 

View full details