Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

David Heyes: Tarantella Napoletana for the progressing young bass quartet

David Heyes: Tarantella Napoletana for the progressing young bass quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Tarantella Napoletana was composed for my younger students at Wells Cathedral School (Somerset, UK) to play in 'Bottesini Bravura!' in Quilter Hall on Monday 25 March 2019. The concert celebrated the music of Giovanni Bottesini (1821-1889) and this quartet was composed in an Italianate style and tailored to suit a specific ability level. The music is fast and lively, with a lyrical middle section and a short cadenza for bass 1 accompanied by a tremolando chord, which leads into an exciting and vibrant finale. 


Tarantella Napoletana is not difficult to rehearse and is a fun and exciting piece in performance. It sounds far more difficult than it really is and is part of a growing series of junior quartets I am composing for my progressing young students.

Bass 4 is primarily in 1st position, with one shift into 3rd position. 
Bass 3 uses 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th positions alongside octave harmonics. 
Bass 2 plays in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th positions with octave harmonics and harmonics in 4th position. 
Bass 1 plays primarily in the positions at the curve of the neck, octave harmonics alongside harmonics in the higher register. 

The parts are carefully graded and remain within a specific ability level with accessible musical and technical challenges for each player. 

Progressing Bass Quartet Bundle

Select the 'Progressing Bass Quartet bundle' option and get Ukko Ylijumala, Tarantella Napoletana, Slavonic Dance No. 1, and The Great Wall of China and get all 4 for the price of 3.

View full details