Skip to product information
1 of 3

David Heyes

Teppo Hauta-aho: Mini-Bass Quartet No. 2 for Junior Double Bass Quartet

Teppo Hauta-aho: Mini-Bass Quartet No. 2 for Junior Double Bass Quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

Mini-Bass Quartet No.2 was completed on 21 October 1991 and is aimed at the junior double bass quartet. In one movement, it is primarily in 1st and 4th positions with a few modern sounds and effects added for contrast and interest.

Arco, pizzicato, and simple harmonics create a backdrop against which effective percussive rhythms add to the harmonic textures. The middle section encourages each player to ‘let their hair down' with different noises, sounds, and effects to demonstrate the many possibilities of the contemporary double bass.

The mini-bass became popular during the second half of the 1980s and new solo and ensemble music was needed for younger players. This quartet is both traditional and forward-looking from a composer who understood the potential of the double bass, even during the first years of study. It offers effective musical and technical challenges for all the bassists and is both engaging and exciting in performance.

Mini-Bass Quartet Bundle

Select the 'Mini-Bass Quartet Bundle' option and you will receive Mini-Bass Quartet #1 and #2 for 25% off.

About the Composer

Teppo Hauta-aho (1941-2021) was the most prolific composer in the history of the double bass and composed for every ability level, from the beginner to the virtuoso. His music is evocative and atmospheric, shaped by jazz and contemporary styles, and the influence of the dramatic and bleak landscapes and vistas of his native Finland are captured throughout his engaging and accessible music.

View full details