Skip to product information
1 of 5

David Heyes

Simón García: The River Fisherman for double bass quartet

Simón García: The River Fisherman for double bass quartet

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

About the Composition

The River Fisherman is a fun and lively quartet with both player and audience appeal. Marked ‘medium swing’, the music is jazzy and energetic, instantly appealing, reflecting the big band sonorities and idiom of the 1940s. If you like Simón García’s music you will love this piece. 

About the Composer

Bassist and composer Simón García was born in Mugardos (Spain) in 1977 and graduated in double bass from the Conservatorio Superior of Salamanca. He has worked as a double bassist in the Royal Orchestra of Galicia, having also performed in many orchestras throughout Spain, and is the bassist in the Symphony Wind Orchestra of A Coruña. 

His music has been performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Uruguay, Denmark, Spain, Japan, Italy, Austria, Germany, Canada, USA, and UK by The Bass Gang, Bass Instinct, and Il Quint-etto amongst others, and some of his music was used as teaching material in the 2011 ISB Year of Collaborative Music. 

Simón García’s music is lively, jazzy, and rhythmic with great forward momentum and drive. Accessible for players and audiences alike, he writes colourful music of distinction and energy, employing the entire range of the double bass. 

View full details